Sons of The Western Blues (2012)


Jonboat Jones - guitar & vocals
Craig Self - lead guitar
Elvis DD - bass
Kwal – drums


01 - Spoonfed
02 - Hells 1/2 Home Of Mine
03 - Road Of Fools
04 - Six Shots
05 - Everyone Goin' Fishin'
06 - Look To The Sky
07 - Mainstream Trucker (18 Wheeler Edit.)
08 - Midnight Run To Cleator
09 - Dirty Woman
10 - The Sum Of All Things

Question that bothers most of us : is really HOGJAW, a member of the new generation of Southern Rock, to classify in this style ? During the last two years, we saw Preacher Stone, Swampdawamp appear, and the confirmation of Blackberry Smoke, but where can we situate Hogjaw ? So their new record Sons Of The Western Blues is the ideal occasion to take stock of the situation, and the answer is positive : hey guys, welcome in the family ! Between « Look To The Sky », a nearly nine minutes tune remaining Skynyrd and its « Simple Man », or a tune more close from Molly Hatchet like « Hells ½ Home Of Mine », the band is seriously up in the mark. The traditionnal Hogjaw's style, it's a rough aggressivity like in « Spoonfed ».

Surprise on the record where a tune is sung by Kwal, the drummer ! This « Road of Fools » really brings something more and that's an idea to go onto in the future. So the guys from Phoenix Arizona confirm walkaway. Hat in hand sirs. Well done ! Good job.

Philippe Archambeau

Close Window