Monarch Jubilee (2014)


Troy Moss - guitar, mandolin & background vocals
Jeff Moss - guitar, slide, lead & background vocals
Kevin Dale - bass & background vocals
David Smith - drums
Scott Nutter - vocals

Additional musicians :
Billy Moss - guitar
Russ Mazion - background vocals
Izzy Del Villar Parker - background vocals
Lee Gregory - keyboards
Chuck Muller - accordion
Leanne Trevalyan - washboard


1 - Tearin' Up The Town
2 - I Get Off On The Pain
3 - Dirty Mistake
4 - The River
5 - I Don't Mind
6 - Souls Alive
7 - Easy Livin'
8 - You Gotta Groove
9 - Whiskey Song
10 - Adeline

It's a great pleasure to find the Moss Brothers band again! It's been eight years since they gave us their wonderful album Royal Orleans. They have the same line-up: Jeff and Troy Moss on guitars, Kevin dale on bass, Dave Smith on drums, and a new singer called Scott Nutter. Billy Moss, another brother, ex Rebel Storm guitarist, plays on one song of this Monarch Jubilee. This new album is less Roots but more Southern Rock than Royal Orleans. That can be heard on the first song, "Tearin' Up The Town" with great guitar parts. Billy Moss plays on "I Get Off On The Pain" and it is close to what Rebel Storm did. Then arrives "Dirty Mistake" close to the Allman Brothers in a funky way, with free guitars and a heavy slide. Scott Nutter on vocals is really good. "The River" talks about their roots and has a mid-tempo rhythm. « I Don't Mind » and « Souls Alive », but mainly « Easy Livin' » are in the Southern swamp style, a real Moss Brothers making of, just like Jeff Moss famous bottleneck on "You Gotta Groove" or in the guitars duets on "Whiskey Song". This record will be a great 2014 album and ends on a Country ballad called "Adeline" sung by Jeff Moss. We can even listen to some French words ("laisse le bon temps rouler") on an accordion and a washboard.

Jacques Dersigny

Close Window