Holding All The Roses (2015)


Charlie Starr - guitar & lead vocals
Paul Jackson - guitar & vocals
Brandon Still - piano & organ
Richard Turner - bass & vocals
Brit Turner - drums & percussion


01 - Let Me Help You (Find the Door)
02 - Holding All the Roses
03 - Living in the Song
04 - Rock and Roll Again
05 - Woman in the Moon
06 - Too High
07 - Wish in One Hand
08 - Randolph County Farewell
09 - Payback's a Bitch
10 - Lay It All on Me
11 - No Way Back to Eden
12 - Fire in the Hole

Here is the new Atlanta band Blackberry Smoke album, Holding All The Roses, the fourth one after the double Live A Scar album where could be found "Payback's a Bitch" that is on this new album. Blackberry Smoke is now famous with a great popularity in the USA and in Europe. Their music evolves but is a real Southern Rock one from Lynyrd Skynyrd to the Allman Bros, with Country Rock, Soul, Bluegrass and a heavy rhythm section, and the gifted frontman Charlie Starr. We can think about Levon Helm Band and obviously to the Black Crowes. This last group inspiration is obvious on "Let Me Help You (Find The Door)" that opens the album. "Holding All The Roses" arrives next and we can listen to moments of grace. Traditional Blackberry Smoke on "Living In The Song", lighter Rock n' Roll on "Rock N' Roll Again", a quieter moment on "Woman In The Moon" where Charlie Starr voice is at the top, Jackson Browne style on "Too High" and back to a Honky Tonk rhythm on "Wish In One Hand". Then we get a short acoustic moment on "Randolph Country Farewell", followed by the tempest style "Payback's a Bitch" and some sweet country music with "Lay It All On Me" and the final moment on "No Way Back To Eden" that looks a little bit to the Allman's Eat A Peach. It's hard to describe so much beauty present on "Fire In The Hole" that runs away with Charlie Starr and Paul Jackson guitars, in a kind of Amman atmosphere that closes this wonderful Southern masterpiece.

Jacques Dersigny

Close Window