Same (2015)


Rick Hewett, Keyboards, Harmony Vocals, Lead Vocals on Pickup Track
George Lamb, Bass
Lou Kaplan, Acoustic and Electric Rhythm Guitars, Lead Vocals, Harmony Vocals
Slaus Brown-Paul, Lead and Slide Guitars, Lead Vocals on You’re the One And Way Past Mad
Barey Westfall, Drums


1 Rollin’ Into Town
2 Lay M Down
3 American Small Town Boy
4 Wocked Ways
5 Pickup Truck
6 Shot To Hell
7 You’re The One
8 Tonight We Ride
9 Desesperation
10 Way Past Mad
11 Fast & Free
12 Take My Drunk Ass Home

 First album of this band from new York that exists since 2008, in a kind of Southern Country Rock close to the Hughie Thomasson Outlaws or Henry Paul's Band. We must admit that Lonesome Crow has two famous musicians, Lou Kaplan on guitars and vocals, and Rick Jewett on keyboards. These two men were in the Southern Rock band "Mad Jack" that issued the famous "Straight Up" in 1984 with "the song "Hangin' Tree", and a 5 song-EP in 1986 with the hit "Runnin' with the Night". Rick Jewett has played with Savoy Brown on the album "Let it Ride" in 1982. Rick is also on "Mad Jack". Two songs from this album are on Lonesome Crow cd, "Desperation Road" and "Tonight we ride", in a different way. Lonesome Crow album has twelve songs and begins with "Rollin' into Town" where Rick Jewett is great on piano. Lou Kaplan voice is perfect and fits these songs close to the Outlaws. Then arrives "Lay me down" that reminds us of the Marshall Tucker Band with Gary Burns guest on the guitar. We go faster on the boogie-blues "American Small Town Boy" with Slaus Brown Paul on slide guitar; it's the same on "Wicked Ways" and also on "Pickup Trick" where Rick Jewett does the vocals. Guitars on harmony on "Shot to Hell", a country ballad on "You're the One", and a great dexterity can be heard on "Tonight we ride" and "Desperation Road". Even if this ain't classical music, we must admit that it works. We have good feelings and that's the most important!

Jacques Dersigny

Close Window