South Broadway Athletic Club (2015 - Bloodshot Records)


01 - Monday (Everytime I Turn Around)
02 - Big Lotsa Love
03 - I Don't Wanna Know
04 - Big Fat Nuthin'
05 - Dog
06 - Something Good
07 - Building Chryslers
08 - Smile
09 - XOYOU
10 - Ship It On the Frisco
11 - Shape of a Wheel

Twelfth album of this band from Saint Louis (Missouri), created in 1992, recorded at the Sawhorse Studio with Eric Roscoe Ambel as a producer. This recording has lasted several months, and it allowed a better music and song writing. Guitarist John Horton has described the group music with 1/3 John Prine, 1/3 Neil Young and 1/3 Cheap trick, that doesn’t seems clear to me. Songs themes come from different influences; "Monday" is about everyday's difficulties, "Dog" is about love from a man to his dog, with a Rickenbacker sound close to the Byrds', "Something Dog" is a love and break song and 'Building Chryslers" is about a blue collar who builds Chrysler and prefer having a Toyota. So here we have a very particular album with a melting pot of songs with a Country music influence and nice guitar parts and diverse themes.

Michel Bertelle

Close Window