World's Gone Crazy (2019)

The name super group is a must for this Southern band called Rattlebone, due to the musical mastery lavished by experienced musicians like Chris Anderson, ex-Grinderswitch & Outlaws, guitar and vocals, Johnny Neel, ex- Allman Bros, keyboards and vocals, Dennis Gulley, ex-Jackson Highway, bass and vocals, Daryl Burgess, drums and vocals, and Shaun Murphy (Little Feat) on vocals who will amaze you on the ten Chris Anderson tracks that contain the album called World's Gone Crazy, produced with great care. To enter the round, there is nothing like the opening as "Dont Go Down That Road", some typically "Southern Boogie", where Chris Anderson sings and axe fights unchallenged in the style of "Born To Be Bad" that he played and sang with the Outlaws, very naughty with well fixed slide lines. The lesson continues all the more on "Can't Leave Well Enough Alone", still with Chris in control. Arrives the album title "World's Gone Crazy" very persuasive by its rather disturbing arrangements as its title indicates: "the world has gone crazy" (you can said that again), with Shaun Murphy in the backing vocals to soften the sad conclusion. More funky things take place on "What A Man's Made Of", then Johnny Neel pushes his voice with a great feeling on the masterpiece of the album called "Innocent", doing from time to time jazzy, and which recalls the "night tripper" Dr John. A slightly Latin breath is applied on the good "Should Have Seen it Coming", then a little malty sweetness on the jerky blues rock "Johnny Walker Red", to quench well the thurst, and finish the album in style with "Trouble Knows My Name" and the instrumental "I'll Be Loving You" where these musicians know how to perpetuate a Southern tradition, a shimmering musical style, illuminated by the guitar of Chris Anderson, like it should be.

Jacques Dersigny


Close Window