Off the Beaten Path (CD 2007)

Titles :

1 Southern Highway
2 New River Waltz
3 Wanderin’ Blues
4 Bard of Ontario
5 I’ll Be Loving You
6 The Kenai
7 I’ll Wait Another Day
8 Saranac
9 Please don’t Bury Me
10 Multi-colored Lady
11 Doriando
12 Off the Beaten Path
13 Badlands

Big man from Georgia, Erik Viel has created a very clever album, with some smells of the country, between Country Blues, Folk and real good Southern Rock ! Erik begins with the heavy boogie ‘Southern Highway’, then the Marshall Tucker band ‘I’ll Be Loving You’ cover. Those who play the MTB are rare, and we get here a brilliant interpretation. He also plays a cover of Gregg Allman ‘Multi Colored Lady’. We can also get some Blues on ‘Wanderin’ Blues’ and a real Southern song –that gave its name to the album- ‘Off The Beaten Path’. Let’s note the photograph on the album cover, where Erik looks at a river, reminding about the six instrumental songs of the album, great songs that bring us to sleep and rest. This album offers us the right to rest, and we just can advise you to buy that album.

Jacques Dersigny

Close Window