Dernière Salve
( )

Musicians :
John Molet, Lead Vocal, Lead Guitar, Laurent Montero, Bass Guitar, Jean-Marie Coron, Lead and Slide Guitar

1 Pas de leçons à retenir. - 2 Vie de ''looser !. - 3 Celui qui dit adieu. - 4 Comment tu peux faire ? - 5 Dans le dos. - 6 Roule, roule, roule !.
7 Tu peux leurs faire savoir - 8 Arrête le la mater. - 9 De quel droit. - 10 Dernière Salve ( instrumental)

Here's Calibre 12 third album, without the compilation " A L'Ouest Rien de Nouveau… Enfin Presque ! " So we can see that Calibre 12 is getting better and better. We can enjoy, from the beginning, the quality of the production, and a good rhythmic section with the new drummer that plays lighter and less heavier. The great guitars parts show us what is a good Southern Rock band, what is classical southern music, proud, faithful, without extra musical ornaments. There are nine songs, all sung in French, and we can enjoy John's voice, for instance on "Tu Peux Leur Faire Savoir", a great song about true life. There are also two real boogies in a Wishbone Ash way, "Comment tu peux faire" and "Arrête de la mater", the real southern songs "Vie de Looser", "Dans le Dos" and "Roule, Roule, Roule", the Outlaws influence on "Celui qui dit Adieu", and a great slide guitar on "De quel Droit", a tribute to the 2001 11th September attacks victims. We get a nice and moving instrumental song at the end, looking like Dickey Betts best songs.
This album is really for the 38 Special, Molly Hatchet, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Ghost Riders' Outlaws die-hard fans. A such a quality European Southern Rock album, maybe we have to come back to Street Survivors' "Southern Rock will never Die" to find it.
So guys, don't let us on this last album, this cannot be your last shot (dernière salve) !!!
Jacques Dersigny


A L'Ouest rien de nouveau …enfin presque !

Musiciens :
Jean-Marie Coron, Guitars & Backgrounds Vocals, Laurent Montéro, Bass, John Molet, Guitars & Lead Vocals, Jean-Luc Gauthier, Drums & Background Vocals

Titles :

1 Just Un Rebel - 2 Rock n' Roll - 3 Rednecks and bad southern boys - 4 Ne lui claque pas la porte - 5 Ne me réveillez pas
6 Poker Blues - 7 Aucun regret - 8 Toujours là - 9 Rock n' Roll soldier - 10 A quoi ça sert - 11 Ballade C12 - 12 Suzie
13 Rien à se dire - 14 Rock n' Roll (live version)

A new jewel from our french territory ! A long time ago, french blues bands at the top were Alan Jack Civilization and Benoit Blue Boy - remember "Descendre au café" ! -, without forgetting the heavier and brilliant Magnum. Now southern rock is present in France with the great band Calibre 12 who gave us, some times ago, two great recordings, A Bout Portant and the double-cd Toujours Là. These cds are now, unfortunaly, no more sold, but calibre 12 has had the great idea to give us a Best Of cd with the best songs they gave us in these two albums. It is the first southern french rock compilation ! People who love Molly Hatchet, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Point Blank will sure enjoy songs as Juste un Rebel, Rock n Roll, Rednecks and Bad Southern Boys, and the great Aucun Regret and Ballade C12, all songs in french ! We get a bonus track with a nice live version from Rock'n Roll, and the first song they ever recorded in 1998, called Suzie, and another one called Rien à se Dire. We hope we can find such a good cd soon in our favourite shops, and maybe a totally new one from Calibre 12, where the two guitar players -Jean-Marie Coron and John Molet - can show how good they are, in a great southern tradition.
Jacques Dersigny

Close Window