The only album of the SILVER DOLLAR BAND, a group from Fort Wayne / Indiana and endowed with a classy Country Rock with a vigorous side close to southern rock, was produced by a renowned producer Harold Shedd, also producer of the group Country ALABAMA, and who ran the Mercury label where he signed the Kentucky Headhunters. This makes this album a collector's item, with the particularity of offering a magnificent eight-minute long version of the Marshall Tucker Band's "Fire On The Mountain". Roger Marshall (guitar/vocals), backed up by a female voice, brings the piece to life nicely with guitar parts that sound great, thus creating a very catchy harmony, approaching the version of its composer, the late guitarist of the Marshall Tucker Band George McCorkle, recorded on his 1999 solo album American Street, and more laid back than the great versions of "Fire On The Mountain", covered by Doc Hollyday and the Germans of Lizard, not to mention the very good version of the band from Toulon MAIN STREET on their album "The Last Cowboy" in 2006. The Silver Dollar Band also gives it all it has got on the super version of Rodney Crowell's flagship track "Ain't Living Long Like This" which rocks badly. From this album we also remember "Sweet Country Music", but especially the lively title "Wrong Again" which opens the B side with a guitar solo at the top level, and sung with precision and emotion by Roger Marshall. Nicknamed Big Daddy, he was part of an Indiana Country group (THE D J BAND) in the early seventies, then created the Silver Dollar Band in 1977 with THE D J BAND drummer Cecil Freeburn, then in 1988 released an excellent single with the Swamp Country Rock title "Hocus Pocus". Also author of soul singer R B Greaves' 1969 US hit "Take A Letter Maria" which R B Greaves recorded at Muscle Shoals Studio with sharks Eddie Hinton and Jimmy Johnson (guitars), David Hood (bass), Roger Hawkins (drums), and Barry Beckett (piano), covered by us by Eddie Mitchell ("Envoie la lettre Maria"), Roger Marshall returned to the front of the stage in a very beautiful way in 2005 after a long illness with his new group Roger Marshall & The Law, supported by his two sons Brandon Marshall (vocals, guitar) and Jesse Marshall (drums), and his album "Hiding in The Wide Open", title which opens the album in a fulminating way with to concretize all that an exhilarating video clip.


This CD album "Hiding in The Wide Open", easily found, where singer guitarist Tony Haselden of Louisiana's Leroux signs and co-signs some of the titles, will delight those who love the "Southern country Rock" of bands like Montgomery Gentry, Smith & Harley, Dallas Moore, J.D. Cable & The Empty Bottle Band, Flynnville Train, Kentucky Headhunters, plus the Van Zant Brothers' "My Kind Of Country" from 2007.

Roger Marshall's single (1988):

Jacques Dersigny

Copyright © 2007 Road to Jacksonville
Webmaster : Patrice GROS
Tous droits reservés.
Design par Zion pour